Logo Klimarappen

Portrait

Emotionaler Bildbereich

The Climate Cent Foundation is a voluntary scheme set up by the Swiss business community with the aim of ensuring effective climate protection. It invests its funds in greenhouse gas reduction projects carried out abroad. Emission reduction certificates yielded by these projects are handed over to the Swiss Confederation free of charge. The Climate Cent Foundation was funded by a charge of 1.5 cent per litre levied on petrol and diesel imports in the years 2006 to 2012.


Innovative and sustainable climate protection abroad

The Climate Cent Foundation invests in greenhouse gas reduction schemes carried out abroad. It mainly supports projects whose emission reductions can be determined according to internationally recognised principles and imputed by Switzerland toward fulfilling its reduction target.

 

Funding provided by the Climate Cent

From October 2005 to August 2012, the Climate Cent Foundation was funded by a charge of 1.5 cent per litre levied on all petrol and diesel imports. This yielded total revenues of 718 million Swiss francs. After the Swiss Confederation had confirmed in November 2013 that the Foundation had fulfilled its mandate, the Foundation’s remaining assets amounted to over 100 million Swiss francs. By 2021, the sale of the Buildings Programme’s sustained impact to the Foundation for Climate Protection and Carbon Offset (KliK) is further expected to yield revenues of around 50 million Swiss francs.

 

A major contribution to Switzerland meeting its international commitments

In the spring of 2015, Switzerland ratified the Kyoto Protocol’s extension into the period 2013 to 2020 resolved in Doha. It committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions by an average of 15.8% compared to their 1990 levels. However, this target is likely to be missed by 12 million tonnes of CO₂. Thanks to the Climate Cent Foundation, Switzerland will be able to compensate its excess emissions with foreign certificates, thereby meeting its international commitments in a cost-effective way.

 

Activities 2005-2013  

  • Over the period 2008 to 2012, the Foundation has reduced precisely 2 million tonnes of CO₂ in Switzerland.
  • Over 16 million certificates stemming from projects registered with the UN have been handed over to the Swiss Confederation. Each certificate stands for the verified reduction of one tonne of CO₂ equivalent.
  • The certificates are used by the Swiss Confederation to meet its international climate protection commitment under the Kyoto Protocol.
  • The Climate Cent Foundation has contributed at least half of the emission reductions required to meet Kyoto targets.

    for more information please go here



Follow-up organisation: the KliK Foundation

With the coming into force of the revised Swiss CO₂ Law on 1 January 2013, the phase of voluntary measures in Swiss climate policy came to an end. Today, those responsible for releasing fossil motor fuels for consumption are required by law to offset a percentage of carbon emissions resulting from the use of these motor fuels. For project funding requests in Switzerland, please contact the mineral oil companies’ carbon offset grouping, the Foundation for Climate Protection and Carbon Offset KliK www.klik.ch.

Logo Klimarappen

Portrait

Emotionaler Bildbereich

La Fondation Centime Climatique est une mesure librement consentie des milieux économiques suisses pour une protection du climat efficace. Elle investit ses actifs dans des projets de réduction des gaz à effet de serre réalisés à l’étranger. Elle remet à la Confédération à titre gratuit les certificats de réduction des émissions issus de ces projets. La Fondation Centime Climatique était financée par une redevance de 1,5 centime par litre prélevée au cours des années 2006 à 2012 sur les importations d’essence et de diesel.


Une protection du climat novatrice et durable à l’étranger

La Fondation Centime Climatique investit à l’étranger dans des mesures de réduction des gaz à effet de serre. Elle soutient en premier lieu des projets dont les réductions d’émissions peuvent être déterminées suivant des principes reconnus à l’international et imputées par la Suisse en vue de l’accomplissement de son objectif de réduction.

 

Un financement assuré par le produit de la redevance du centime climatique

La Fondation Centime Climatique s’est financée d’octobre 2005 à août 2012 par une redevance prélevée sur toutes les importations d’essence et de diesel à hauteur de 1,5 centime par litre. Il en a résulté des revenus de 718 millions de francs. Après la confirmation établie par la Confédération en novembre 2013 comme quoi la Fondation avait bien rempli son mandat, les actifs restants s’élevaient à plus de 100 millions de francs. D’ici 2021, la vente des effets persistants du Programme Bâtiments à la Fondation pour la protection du climat et la compensation de CO₂ KliK devrait par ailleurs générer des revenus d’environ 50 millions de francs.

 

Une contribution importante à l’accomplissement des engagements internationaux de la Suisse

Au printemps 2015, la Suisse a ratifié la reconduction du Protocole de Kyoto adoptée à Doha pour la période 2013 à 2020. Elle s’est engagée à réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 15,8% en moyenne par rapport à 1990. Cependant, cet objectif devrait être manqué de 12 millions de tonnes de CO₂. Grâce à la Fondation Centime Climatique, la Suisse va pouvoir compenser ses émissions excédentaires au moyen de certificats étrangers, satisfaisant ainsi à son engagement international de manière efficiente en termes de coûts

 

Activités 2005-2013 

  • Au cours de la période 2008 à 2012, exactement 2 millions de tonnes de CO₂ ont été réduites en Suisse.
  • Un peu plus de 16 millions de certificats issus de projets immatriculés auprès de l’ONU ont été remis à la Confédération. Chaque certificat représente la réduction vérifiée d’une tonne d’équivalent CO₂.
  • Les certificats sont utilisés par la Confédération afin de remplir l’engagement international de protection climatique contracté dans le cadre du Protocole de Kyoto.
  • A elle seule, la Fondation Centime Climatique a contribué au moins la moitié des réductions nécessaires à l’atteinte des objectifs de Kyoto.

    pour plus d'informations, veuillez cliquer ici



La Fondation KliK prend la relève

L’entrée en vigueur de la loi révisée sur le CO₂ le 1er janvier 2013 a marqué la fin de la phase des mesures librement consenties dans la politique climatique suisse. Aujourd’hui, les responsables de la mise à la consommation de carburants fossiles sont légalement tenus de compenser un pourcentage des émissions de CO₂ occasionnées par l’utilisation des carburants. Pour toute demande de financement de projet en Suisse, veuillez vous adresser au groupement de compensation des sociétés pétrolières concernées, la Fondation pour la protection du climat et la compensation de CO₂ KliK www.klik.ch.