Logo Klimarappen

Portrait

Emotionaler Bildbereich

The Climate Cent Foundation is a voluntary scheme set up by the Swiss business community with the aim of ensuring effective climate protection. It invests its funds in greenhouse gas reduction projects carried out abroad. Emission reduction certificates yielded by these projects are handed over to the Swiss Confederation free of charge. The Climate Cent Foundation was funded by a charge of 1.5 cent per litre levied on petrol and diesel imports in the years 2006 to 2012.


Innovative and sustainable climate protection abroad

The Climate Cent Foundation invests in greenhouse gas reduction schemes carried out abroad. It mainly supports projects whose emission reductions can be determined according to internationally recognised principles and imputed by Switzerland toward fulfilling its reduction target.

 

Funding provided by the Climate Cent

From October 2005 to August 2012, the Climate Cent Foundation was funded by a charge of 1.5 cent per litre levied on all petrol and diesel imports. This yielded total revenues of 718 million Swiss francs. After the Swiss Confederation had confirmed in November 2013 that the Foundation had fulfilled its mandate, the Foundation’s remaining assets amounted to over 100 million Swiss francs. By 2021, the sale of the Buildings Programme’s sustained impact to the Foundation for Climate Protection and Carbon Offset (KliK) is further expected to yield revenues of around 50 million Swiss francs.

 

A major contribution to Switzerland meeting its international commitments

In the spring of 2015, Switzerland ratified the Kyoto Protocol’s extension into the period 2013 to 2020 resolved in Doha. It committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions by an average of 15.8% compared to their 1990 levels. However, this target is likely to be missed by 12 million tonnes of CO₂. Thanks to the Climate Cent Foundation, Switzerland will be able to compensate its excess emissions with foreign certificates, thereby meeting its international commitments in a cost-effective way.

 

Activities 2005-2013  

  • Over the period 2008 to 2012, the Foundation has reduced precisely 2 million tonnes of CO₂ in Switzerland.
  • Over 16 million certificates stemming from projects registered with the UN have been handed over to the Swiss Confederation. Each certificate stands for the verified reduction of one tonne of CO₂ equivalent.
  • The certificates are used by the Swiss Confederation to meet its international climate protection commitment under the Kyoto Protocol.
  • The Climate Cent Foundation has contributed at least half of the emission reductions required to meet Kyoto targets.

    for more information please go here



Follow-up organisation: the KliK Foundation

With the coming into force of the revised Swiss CO₂ Law on 1 January 2013, the phase of voluntary measures in Swiss climate policy came to an end. Today, those responsible for releasing fossil motor fuels for consumption are required by law to offset a percentage of carbon emissions resulting from the use of these motor fuels. For project funding requests in Switzerland, please contact the mineral oil companies’ carbon offset grouping, the Foundation for Climate Protection and Carbon Offset KliK www.klik.ch.

Logo Klimarappen

Portrait

Emotionaler Bildbereich

Die Stiftung Klimarappen ist eine freiwillige Massnahme der Schweizer Wirtschaft für einen wirksamen Klimaschutz. Sie investiert ihr Vermögen in ausländische Projekte zur Verminderung von Treibhausgasen. Emissionsminderungszertifikate aus diesen Projekten gibt sie dem Bund kostenfrei ab. Finanziert wurde die Stiftung Klimarappen durch eine Abgabe von 1,5 Rappen pro Liter auf Benzin- und Dieselimporten in den Jahren 2006 bis 2012.


Innovativer und nachhaltiger Klimaschutz im Ausland

Die Stiftung Klimarappen investiert im Ausland in Massnahmen zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasen. In erster Linie werden Projekte unterstützt, deren Emissionsverminderungen nach international anerkannten Grundsätzen ermittelt und von der Schweiz zur Erfüllung ihres Reduktionsziels angerechnet werden können.

 

Finanzierung aus Vermögen der Klimarappen-Abgabe

Die Stiftung Klimarappen finanzierte sich von Oktober 2005 bis August 2012 über eine Abgabe auf alle Benzin- und Dieselimporte in Höhe von 1,5 Rappen pro Liter. Daraus erwuchsen Einnahmen von 718 Mio. Franken. Nach der im November 2013 erfolgten Bestätigung des Bundes, die Stiftung habe ihre Aufgabe erfüllt, verblieb ein Vermögen von über 100 Mio. Franken. Bis 2021 werden zudem Einnahmen von etwa 50 Mio. Franken aus dem Verkauf der anhaltenden Wirkung des Gebäudeprogramms an die Stiftung Klimaschutz und CO₂-Kompensation KliK erwartet.

 

Wichtiger Beitrag zur Erfüllung der internationalen Verpflichtung der Schweiz

Die Schweiz hat im Frühjahr 2015 die in Doha beschlossene Verlängerung des Kyoto-Protokolls in die Periode 2013 bis 2020 ratifiziert. Sie hat sich verpflichtet, ihre Treibhausgasemissionen gegenüber dem Stand von 1990 um durchschnittlich 15,8% zu reduzieren. Dieses Emissionsziel wird aber voraussichtlich um 12 Mio. Tonnen CO₂ verfehlt werden. Dank der Stiftung Klimarappen wird die Schweiz ihre überschüssigen Emissionen mit ausländischen Zertifikaten kompensieren und somit ihre internationale Verpflichtung in kosteneffizienter Weise erfüllen können

 

Aktivitäten 2005-2013  

  • Im Zeitraum 2008 bis 2012 wurden in der Schweiz exakt 2 Millionen Tonnen CO₂ reduziert.
  • Gut 16 Millionen Zertifikate aus von der UNO registrierten Projekten wurden dem Bund abgegeben. Jedes davon steht für die verifizierte Reduktion einer Tonne  CO₂-Äquivalent.
  • Die Zertifikate werden vom Bund genutzt, um die international mit dem Kyoto-Protokoll eingegangene Klimaschutz-Verpflichtung zu erfüllen.
  • Die Stiftung Klimarappen trug allein mindestens die Hälfte der nötigen Reduktionen zum Erreichen des Kyoto-Ziels bei.

    weitere Infos finden Sie hier



Nachfolgeorganisation Stiftung KliK

Mit Inkrafttreten des revidierten  CO₂-Gesetzes am 1. Januar 2013 endete die Phase der Freiwilligkeit in der schweizerischen Klimapolitik. Neu sind die Inverkehrbringer fossiler Treibstoffe gesetzlich verpflichtet, einen Prozentsatz der mit der Nutzung der Treibstoffe einhergehenden  CO₂-Emissionen zu kompensieren. Für Projektfinanzierungsgesuche im Inland wenden Sie sich bitte an die Kompensationsgemeinschaft der betroffenen Mineralölgesellschaften, die Stiftung Klimaschutz und  CO₂-Kompensation KliK www.klik.ch.