Logo Klimarappen

Transformative Carbon Asset Facility

About

The Transformative Carbon Asset Facility (TCAF) is a new climate protection scheme set up by the World Bank, in which the Climate Cent Foundation and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) are jointly participating with a share of 12.5 million US$ each. Among the other investors are the governments of Germany (2 million US$), Great Britain (60 million GBP), Canada (3 million CAD), Norway (80 million US$) and Sweden (25 million US$). The fund has a total endowment of around 210 million US$.

 

The Paris Agreement’s stated objective is to limit temperature rises due to anthropogenic climate change to distinctly less than two degrees. To do so, global greenhouse gas emissions must decline sharply in coming decades, leading to almost no greenhouse gases being emitted any more by the second half of the century. This can only be achieved within the context of strong international cooperation.

 

This is where TCAF intervenes. Studies show that – due to strong economic growth and advancing industrialisation – emerging countries’ greenhouse gas emissions will keep rising in years to come. TCAF wants to support emerging countries in implementing carbon pricing measures and sectorial emission reduction schemes, in order to break the trend of rising greenhouse gas emissions. More concretely, the TCAF will develop and pilot test innovative CO₂ crediting and quantification mechanisms, such as policy crediting. The aim is to show how greenhouse gas reductions can be triggered in a cost-effective and large-scale manner.

 

Current status

The TCAF has been operational since March 2017 and is currently assessing various possible activities. First contracts are expected to be signed in 2019.


Contact

tcaf.worldbank.org/

Logo Klimarappen

Transformative Carbon Asset Facility

Allgemeines

Die Transformative Carbon Asset Facility (TCAF) ist ein neues Klimaschutz-Instrument der Weltbank, an dem sich die Stiftung Klimarappen und das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (seco) gemeinsam mit jeweils 12,5 Mio. US-Dollar beteiligen. Weitere Investoren sind die Regierungen Deutschlands (2 Mio. USD), Grossbritanniens (60 Mio. GBP), Kanadas (3 Mio CAD), Norwegens (80 Mio. USD) und Schwedens (25 Mio. USD). Der Fonds ist mit insgesamt ca. 210 Mio. US-Dollar dotiert.


Das Übereinkommen von Paris hat zum Ziel erklärt, den Temperaturanstieg in Folge des menschenverursachten Klimawandels auf deutlich unter zwei Grad zu begrenzen. Dazu müssen die globalen Treibhausgasemissionen in den nächsten Jahrzehnten rapide sinken, so dass ab der zweiten Jahrhunderthälfte praktisch keine Treibhausgase mehr ausgestossen werden. Dies wird sich nur im Rahmen einer starken internationalen Zusammenarbeit erreichen lassen.  

 

An diesem Punkt setzt die TCAF an. Studien zeigen, dass die Treibhausgasemissionen von Schwellenländern – aufgrund starken Wirtschaftswachstums und fortschreitender Industrialisierung – in den nächsten Jahren weiter ansteigen werden. Die TCAF will Schwellenländer bei der Umsetzung von Massnahmen zur Bepreisung von CO₂-Emissionen und sektoralen Emissionsreduktionsmassnahmen unterstützen, um den Trend steigender Treibhausgasemissionen zu durchbrechen. Konkret wird die TCAF innovative CO₂-Kreditierungs- und Quantifizierungsmechanismen – wie z.B. policy-crediting – entwickeln und pilotieren. Damit soll aufgezeigt werden, wie Treibhausgasreduktionen günstig und im grossen Stil bewirkt werden können.

 

Aktueller Stand

Die TCAF ist seit März 2017 operativ und evaluiert derzeit verschiedene mögliche Aktivitäten. Es wird erwartet, dass die ersten Verträge 2019 unterzeichnet werden können. 


Kontakt

tcaf.worldbank.org/