Logo Klimarappen

Transformative Carbon Asset Facility

About

The Transformative Carbon Asset Facility (TCAF) is a new climate protection scheme set up by the World Bank, in which the Climate Cent Foundation and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) are jointly participating with a share of 12.5 million US$ each. Among the other investors are the governments of Germany (2 million US$), Great Britain (60 million GBP), Canada (3 million CAD), Norway (80 million US$) and Sweden (25 million US$). The fund has a total endowment of around 210 million US$.

 

The Paris Agreement’s stated objective is to limit temperature rises due to anthropogenic climate change to distinctly less than two degrees. To do so, global greenhouse gas emissions must decline sharply in coming decades, leading to almost no greenhouse gases being emitted any more by the second half of the century. This can only be achieved within the context of strong international cooperation.

 

This is where TCAF intervenes. Studies show that – due to strong economic growth and advancing industrialisation – emerging countries’ greenhouse gas emissions will keep rising in years to come. TCAF wants to support emerging countries in implementing carbon pricing measures and sectorial emission reduction schemes, in order to break the trend of rising greenhouse gas emissions. More concretely, the TCAF will develop and pilot test innovative CO₂ crediting and quantification mechanisms, such as policy crediting. The aim is to show how greenhouse gas reductions can be triggered in a cost-effective and large-scale manner.

 

Current status

The TCAF has been operational since March 2017 and is currently assessing various possible activities. First contracts are expected to be signed in 2019.


Contact

tcaf.worldbank.org/

Logo Klimarappen

Transformative Carbon Asset Facility

Généralités

La Transformative Carbon Asset Facility (TCAF) est un nouvel instrument de protection du climat de la Banque mondiale, auquel la Fondation Centime Climatique et le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO) participent ensemble à hauteur de respectivement 2.5 millions de US$. Parmi les autres investisseurs, on compte les gouvernements allemand (2 millions de US$), britannique (60 millions de GBP), canadien (3 millions de CAD), norvégien (80 millions de US$) et suédois (25 millions de US$). Au total, le fonds est doté d’environ  210 millions de US$.

 

L’Accord de Paris a déclaré pour objectif de limiter l’augmentation des températures due au changement climatique provoqué par l’activité humaine à nettement moins de deux degrés. A cet effet, les émissions globales de gaz à effet de serre doivent rapidement baisser dans les décennies à venir, réduisant quasiment à zéro les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à partir de la deuxième moitié du siècle. Cela ne sera possible que dans le cadre d’une collaboration internationale forte.

 

C’est là qu’intervient la TCAF. Les études montrent que – en raison d’une forte croissance économique et d’une industrialisation continue – les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des pays émergents vont continuer à augmenter dans les années à venir. La TCAF compte soutenir les pays émergents dans la mise en œuvre de mesures de tarification des émissions de CO₂ et de mesures sectorielles de réduction des émissions, afin de briser la tendance à la hausse des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Concrètement, la TCAF va développer et piloter des mécanismes novateurs de crédit et de quantification de CO₂, comme par exemple le policy crediting. Il s’agit de montrer comment les réductions de gaz à effet de serre peuvent être déclenchées à peu de frais et à grande échelle.


Etat d’avancement

La TCAF est opérationnelle depuis mars 2017 et procède actuellement à l’évaluation de différentes activités potentielles. Les premiers contrats devraient pouvoir être signés en 2019.


Contact

tcaf.worldbank.org/