Logo Klimarappen

Carbon Initiative for Development

Emotionaler Bildbereich

About
The Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev) is a World Bank climate protection fund, in which the Climate Cent Foundation holds a stake of 23 million US$. The fund also numbers the governments of Great Britain and Sweden among its investors and is endowed with around 110 million US$ in total. It funds climate protection projects in little-developed countries, especially in Africa, focussing on improving access to renewable energy.


A climate protection fund is a procurement scheme for the purchase of project-based certificates. The sourcing of certificates is handled by the fund operator, who concludes direct purchase agreements with the owners of climate protection projects. The resulting certificates are distributed to fund participants according to their respective investment share.

Current status

The fund is currently working on a portfolio of 13 climate protection programmes. Programmes have been set up in the fields of biogas use by private households, solar energy, efficient cooking appliances, small-scale hydropower, and power network extensions. They are located in Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Rwanda, Senegal and Uganda. All programmes display innovative business models, which makes it more difficult to determine a programme’s funding requirements, i.e. a fair price per CER.

 

To date (May 2018), the fund has signed a purchase agreement with eleven programmes.


Contact
www.ci-dev.org

Logo Klimarappen

Carbon Initiative for Development

Emotionaler Bildbereich

Généralités
La Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev) est un fonds de protection climatique de la Banque mondiale, auquel la Fondation Centime Climatique participe à hauteur de 23 millions de US$. Le fonds, qui compte également parmi ses investisseurs les gouvernements de Grande-Bretagne et de Suède, présente un volume total d’environ 110 millions de US$. Il finance des projets de protection climatique dans des pays peu développés, principalement en Afrique. Il met l’accent sur l’amélioration de l’accès à l’énergie renouvelable.


Un fonds de protection climatique est un programme d’acquisition de certificats issus de projets. L’acquisition des certificats est effectuée par l’opérateur du fonds, qui conclut directement des contrats d’achat avec les titulaires des projets de protection climatique. Les certificats qui en résultent sont répartis suivant la part d’investissement des participants du fonds.

Etat d’avancement

Le fonds travaille actuellement à un portefeuille de 13 programmes de protection climatique. Il s’agit de programmes dans les domaines suivants: utilisation de biogaz par les particuliers, énergie solaire, moyens de cuisson efficients, petite hydraulique, extension du réseau électrique. Les programmes sont situés en Ethiopie, au Burkina Faso, au Kenya, à Madagascar, au Mali, au Rwanda, au Sénégal et en Ouganda. Tous les programmes se distinguent par un plan d’affaires novateur, ce qui complique la détermination des besoins de financement des programmes resp. du juste prix par CER. 


A ce jour (mai 2018), le fonds a signé un contrat d’achat avec onze programmes. 


Contact
www.ci-dev.org