Logo Klimarappen

Carbon Initiative for Development

Emotionaler Bildbereich

About
The Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev) is a World Bank climate protection fund, in which the Climate Cent Foundation holds a stake of 23 million US$. The fund also numbers the governments of Great Britain and Sweden among its investors and is endowed with around 110 million US$ in total. It funds climate protection projects in little-developed countries, especially in Africa, focussing on improving access to renewable energy.


A climate protection fund is a procurement scheme for the purchase of project-based certificates. The sourcing of certificates is handled by the fund operator, who concludes direct purchase agreements with the owners of climate protection projects. The resulting certificates are distributed to fund participants according to their respective investment share.

Current status

The fund is currently working on a portfolio of 13 climate protection programmes. Programmes have been set up in the fields of biogas use by private households, solar energy, efficient cooking appliances, small-scale hydropower, and power network extensions. They are located in Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Rwanda, Senegal and Uganda. All programmes display innovative business models, which makes it more difficult to determine a programme’s funding requirements, i.e. a fair price per CER.

 

To date (May 2018), the fund has signed a purchase agreement with eleven programmes.


Contact
www.ci-dev.org

Logo Klimarappen

Carbon Initiative for Development

Emotionaler Bildbereich

Allgemeines
Die Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev) ist ein Klimaschutz-Fonds der Weltbank, an dem sich die Stiftung Klimarappen mit 23 Mio. US-Dollar beteiligt. Weitere Investoren sind die Regierungen Grossbritanniens und Schwedens. Der Fonds ist mit insgesamt rund 110 Mio. US-Dollar dotiert. Er finanziert Klimaschutzprojekte in wenig entwickelten Ländern, vornehmlich in Afrika. Schwergewichtig soll dabei der Zugang zu erneuerbarer Energie verbessert werden.


Ein Klimaschutzfonds ist ein Beschaffungsprogramm für den Erwerb projektbasierter Zertifikate. Die Beschaffung der Zertifikate erfolgt durch den Fondsbetreiber, welcher direkt mit den Eignern der Klimaschutzprojekte Kaufverträge abschliesst. Die daraus resultierenden Zertifikate werden entsprechend dem Investitionsanteil der Fondsteilnehmer verteilt.

Aktueller Stand
Der Fonds hat derzeit ein Portfolio von 13 Klimaschutzprogrammen in Bearbeitung. Es handelt sich um Programme in den Bereichen Biogasnutzung in Haushalten, Solarenergie, effiziente Kochstellen, Kleinwasserkraft und Stromnetzerweiterung. Die Programme sind in Äthiopien, Burkina Faso, Kenia, Madagaskar, Mali, Ruanda, Senegal und Uganda angesiedelt. Sämtliche Programme zeichnen sich durch innovative Businessmodelle aus, was die Bestimmung des Finanzierungsbedarfs eines Programms bzw. des fairen Preises pro CER erschwert.

 

Der Fonds hat aktuell (Stand Mai 2018) mit elf Programmen einen Kaufvertrag abgeschlossen.


Kontakt
www.ci-dev.org